H20 3CD
Catalog # 88/89/90
Release Year 1998  
3CD Length 77:04 | 75:26 | 75:56
Date/Venue Studio Outakes 1977 - 1995
Source Soundboard
Quality VG/EX
G2P Rating 4.375/5.0

Track Listing
Studio Outakes 1977 - 1995
Disc #1
  1. We can funk
  2. Witness 4 the prosecution
  3. Well done
  4. Something in the water
  5. Electric intercourse
  6. Computer blue
  7. Take me with U
  8. The beautiful ones
  9. Euphoria highway
  10. Around the world in a day
  11. Kiss
  12. Kiss [Mazarati]
  13. 100 MPH [Mazarati]
  14. Make it through the storm
  15. We can work it out
  16. Tick, tick bang
  17. Melody cool
              Disc #2
  1. Live 4 love
  2. Cream
  3. Insatiable
  4. Something funky (this house comes)
  5. The flow
  6. Willing and able
  7. Batdance
  8. Bliss
  9. Mind bells
  10. Chatounette controle
  11. MPLS [12" remix, MPLS]
  12. The ryde divine [The
  13. The lost 0(+> segues
              Disc #3
  1. Nothing compares 2 U [The
  2. We can funk [George
  3. Brand new boy [MC Flash]
  4. The voice [Mavis Staples]
  5. Hit U in the socket [Rosie Gaines]
  6. Number one [Rosie Gaines]
  7. Mad
  8. Love...thy will be done
  9. Funky
  10. Proud Mary
  11. Funky design
  12. Get wild
  13. Sonny turns the TV off
  14. New power soul
  15. DJ seduces Sonny
  16. Spooky soup
  17. Hallucination rain
  18. Spooky soup II
  19. NPG outro.

Deane's Comments (rates this release 4.75/5.0)
Of the recent, no of all, outake collections this has got to be one of my favorites. At first I didn't think so. I thought the Alterative tracks for Diamonds and Pearls and Exodus would just be filler, but I really enjoyed them. This is a must have.

Dale's Comments  (rates this release 4/5.0)
A very nice outtake collection, but still padded with some filler. I would just once like to see Thunderball release a 3 or 4 cd set of outtakes that feature only songs SUNG by Prince. Don't get me wrong, I like the 'Prince Related' tracks on this release (and on the others), but I would rather have those tracks on a separate release than used as filler. Even the NPG tracks are worthy of being released separately, mixing them into a set like this detracts from their concept.

Mike's Comments  (rates this release 4/5.0)
A nice collection of outtakes here, most from the soundboard. There's quite a lot of material from related artists, songs which Prince had a hand in, but enough Prince songs to keep it interesting. Back in '99 when this came out it was essential; it's still excellent but The work sets are more comprehensive and anyone wanting the ultimate collection of studio outtakes should consider those instead.

copyright 2002 guide2prince.org