God Bless America 2CD
Catalog # 237/238
Release Year 1997  
2CD Length 72:40 | 69:10
Date/Venue 11 Days On The Freedom Train 1997
Source Audience Recordings
Quality VG+ / EX-
Rating 4/5.0

Track Listing
Boston 8/1/97 (disc 1 tracks 1 - 9)
Atlanta 19/1/97 (disc 1 tracks 10 - 13 & disc 2 tracks 1 - 11)
Detroit 13/1/97 (disc 2 tracks 12 - 15)
Disc #1
  1. Intro.
  2. Jam of the year
  3. Talkin' loud and sayin' nothing
  4. Purple rain
  5. 17 days
  6. Get yo groove on / Six
  7. The most beautiful girl in the world
  8. Face down
  9. The cross
  10. One of us
  11. Do me, baby medley
  12. Sexy MF
  13. If I was your girlfriend
              Disc #2
  1. The ride
  2. How come U don't call me anymore?
  3. Take me with U
  4. Raspberry beret
  5. Mr Happy
  6. 18 & over
  7. Johnny
  8. Sleep around
  9. Take the A-train
  10. The little groove maker me
  11. Partyman
  12. Face down
  13. Somebody's somebody
  14. The ride
  15. Johnny

Deane's Comments (rates this release 4.5/5.0)
Although this is made up from three different sources and has varied quality, it is a nice document of the 1997 tours. One of the first releases from that period. The package is pretty cool and even has an ad for 1 800 NEW FUNK. The CD booklet includes two newspaper reviews of the included shows. Bright spots on the release are Face Down at The Roxy and the Piano Medley in Atlanta.

Dale's Comments  (rates this release 3.5/5.0)
This is a nice document of the Love 4 One Another shows. Prince was still fresh from his Warner Bro.s "Emancipation" and the shows reflected a lot of that 'freedom'. This band doesn't seem to be as versatile as what we have grown accustomed to, and I notice Prince carrying a lot of the load in these early shows. The nicest thing about this release is the song selection that it showcases, and as with most Moonraker releases the nice packaging. The sound quality is subpar though, and with the multitude of L4OA/JOTY releases circulating this one may not be all that essential.

Mike's Comments  (rates this release 3/5.0)
None of the shows on here is complete. The patchwork approach was deliberate since the aim was to weave the 3 different recordings together to make them sound like a full show. It works well enough but there are plenty of good quality full shows around from the 1997 tours to make this irrelevant. The complete Atlanta show is on Atlanta, January 19th 1997.

copyright 2016 4thefunk.com