Freedom Train, The 2CD
Catalog # 220/221
Release Year 1997  
2CD Length 73:52 | 64:00
Date/Venue New York and Washington DC 1997
Source Audience Recordings
Quality VG+ / EX-
Rating 3.5/5.0

Track Listing
New York 11/1/97 (disc 1 & disc 2 tracks 1 - 7)
Washington 10/1/97 (disc 2 tracks 8 - 15)
Disc #1
  1. Jam of the year
  2. Talkin' loud and sayin' nothing
  3. Purple rain
  4. 17 days
  5. Get yo groove on
  6. Six
  7. Face down
  8. The cross
  9. One of us
  10. Do me, baby medley:
    Do me, baby
    How come U don't call me anymore?
    Do me, baby
  11. Sexy MF
  12. If I was your girlfriend
  13. How come U don't call me anymore?
  14. Take me with U
  15. Raspberry beret
              Disc #2
  1. Mr Happy
  2. 18 & over
  3. Speech
  4. Sleep around
  5. Take the A-train
  6. The little groove maker me
  7. Johnny
  8. Face down / Voodoo chile
  9. The ride
  10. Sleep around
  11. Take the A-train
  12. The little groove maker me
  13. 777-9311
  14. Partyman
  15. Johnny

Deane's Comments (rates this release 3.5/5.0)
An all together excellent release from the Freedom Train tour. The sound quality of the Washington show isn't as good as the New York show. Chris Rock joins the band on stage in New York on Little Miss Groove Maker Me and shows us why he doesn't sing on his albums. The packaging includes a 20 page booklet, but not much information about the shows. It was nice to have the incompete DC show as filler. I hope a more complete version of this show appears eventually. Again, another excellent Moonraker release!

Mike's Comments (rates this release 3.5/5.0)
One of the best shows from the series of concerts played during January 1997. The inclusion of the best bits from the Washington show is a nice bonus.

Fink's Comments (rates this release 3.25/5.0)
Fact fans will be aware that the versions of 'Jam Of The Year' and 'Face Down' from the New York show were released on the NYC cassette in 1997. The New York show is from the early leg of the Love 4 One Another tour (this is only the 4th show of the tour) and as such it is far less polished than many others later on. That said, it contains all the basics to make it an enjoyable, if a little pedestrian show. The real stand-out moments occur during the stunning 'Face Down' which contains some amazing bass jamming and lasts a little under 10 minutes alone. 'Mr. Happy' gets an airing and includes a few added lyrics from 'Big Fun' and Chris Rock guests onstage during the 'I Feel Alright' crowd chant momentarily taking over the microphone. The first half of the New York recording is superb and whilst the crowd are evident throughout, they add a very appreciative atmosphere to the show.

The second half is slightly more subdued and hollow, although still very worthy of an EX- rating. The release also includes a portion of the previous nights show from Washington DC (which can be found on the release 'The Artist, The Cross, The Ride'). The recording isn't as clean and clear as the New York recording and Prince sounds rather distant. The 30 minutes (ish) included here however is an excellent mix of the highlights of the show and includes not only a rather rare performance of 'The Ride', but a slightly different take on 'Johnny' which is more sung than rapped. Overall this is a very decent release of 2 early Love 4 One Another shows.

There are a few issues with the quality, but on the whole the recordings are impressive. The packaging is fairly typical for it's time and whilst it includes a booklet with various nice pics, it is lacking much information.

copyright 2016