Fillmore Night 2CDR
Catalog # PM70/71
Release Year 2001  
2CDR Length 133:00
Date/Venue San Francisco 28 April 2001 & Bonus
Source Audience Recording
Quality VG+/EX
G2P Rating 2.75/5.0

Track Listing
San Francisco aftershow 28/4/01 (disc 1 & disc 2 tracks 1-2)
Sheila E. live in Los Angeles Spring 1985 (disc 2 tracks 3-9)
Disc #1
  1. The daisy chain
  2. Natural woman
  3. Car wash
  4. Ain't no way
  5. Joy in repetition
  6. Paisley Park
  7. Santana medley
  8. Oye como va
              Disc #2
  1. Come on
  2. Alphabet St.
  3. Shortberry strawcake
  4. The belle of St. Mark
  5. Noon rendezvous
  6. Oliver's house
  7. Instrumental
  8. Next time wipe the lipstick off your collar
  9. The glamorous life

Deane's Comments (rates this release 2.5/5.0)
This Fillmore show has surface on many 'Fan' release in a number of different configurations. It is an audience recording and obviously so. The inclusion of the Sheila E's set from 1985 make no sense with 2001 Prince set. The Sheila E Set in from a broadcast so it makes the Prince set sound that much worse.

Mike's Comments (rates this release 3/5.0)
This aftershow should have been a classic - an extended version of 'The daisy chain', rare performances of 'Joy in repetition' and 'Paisley Park, Sheila E. guesting etc. - but it's not. Though not up to classic standard it's still pretty good and there's definitely worse ones about. The Sheila E. show from 1985 seems to have been tacked on because of her guest appearance during the 2001 aftershow. As a soundboard recording of a set based on her strongest album this is the best Sheila E. show currently in circulation.

copyright 2002