Fantasia 3CD
Catalog # 242/243/244
Release Year 1997  
3CD Length 72:11 | 72:34 | 72:37
Date/Venue Studio Outtakes
Source Soundboard Recordings
Quality VG+ / EX+
Rating 3.875/5.0

Track Listing
Studio Outakes 1983-1996
Disc #1
  1. Dream factory
  2. The sex of it
  3. Crystal ball
  4. All my dreams
  5. Computer blue
  6. Miss understood [The Family]
  7. Get on up
  8. U gotta shake something
  9. Alphabet St. [Kirk J. remix]
  10. Seven corners [Ingrid Chavez]
  11. Sexy MF [Kirk J. remix]
  12. The continental [Kirk J. remix]
  13. Work that fat
              Disc #2
  1. Power from above [Carmen Electra]
  2. Carmen on top [Carmen Electra]
  3. Go Carmen go [Carmen Electra]
  4. Powerline [Carmen Electra]
  5. All that [Carmen Electra]
  6. The juice [Carmen Electra]
  7. Fun part II [Carmen Electra]
  8. Rootie kazootie [Madhouse]
  9. Space [Madhouse]
  10. Guitar segue [Madhouse]
  11. Asswoop [Madhouse]
  12. Ethereal segue [Madhouse]
  13. Parlor games [Madhouse]
  14. Michael segue [Madhouse]
  15. (Got 2) Give it up [Madhouse]
  16. Sonny & Miles segue [Madhouse]
  17. 24 [Madhouse]
              Disc #3
  1. Poem
  2. Interactive
  3. Strays of the world
  4. (Lemme see that body) Get loose!
  5. 18 & over
  6. Days of wild
  7. Acknowledge me
  8. Slave 2 the system [N.P.G.]
  9. Acknowledge me [N.P.G.]
  10. Superhero [N.P.G.]
  11. Slave 2 the system
  12. 20/20
  13. Feel good
  14. Journey 2 the center of your heart
  15. I am the DJ
  16. Goodbye
  17. Emancipation

Deane's Comments (rates this release 4/5.0)
This could have been an excellent two CD set. Not to say it isn't fantastic, but the Carmen releases are better documented on Sun Moon Stars and Madhouse 24 is on a number of other releases. The sound quality is excellent and the package superb. This is one in a series of Must have outakes collections.

Dale's Comments  (rates this release 3.75/5.0)
A very nice collection of outtakes. There are quite a few disappointments on it however. Like the incomplete version of Crystal Ball which is basically just the second half of the song, and the Carmen Electra/Madhouse filler. Of course, if you don't have those tracks then I suppose you won't consider them filler. :)

Mike's Comments  (rates this release 4/5.0)
The first in a series of triple sets that included Deposition, Dreams, Cosmos and H2O. Unlike some of those this one has nigh-on perfect sound all the way through, and some great material to boot. Prince's original version of 'The sex of it' is excellent, 'Work that fat' funny and offensive, 'Seven corners' dreamy. The work series may be the ultimate outtakes collection but this set still has much to offer and serves as a fine introduction to the contents of the Paisley Park vault.

copyright 2016