Dream Factory 2CD
Catalog # TB 135/136
Release Year 2001  
2CD Length
Date/Venue Studio Outtakes - Dream Factory LP
Source Soundboard
Quality VG/EX-
G2P Rating 4.25/5.0

Track Listing
The Dream factory album, final configuration as of 18/7/86 (disc 1)
Outtakes and demos for Dream factory (disc 2)
Disc #1
  1. Visions
  2. Dream factory
  3. Train
  4. The ballad of Dorothy Parker
  5. It
  6. Strange relationship
  7. Slow love
  8. Starfish and coffee
  9. Interlude
  10. I could never take the place of your man
  11. Sign "O" the times
  12. Crystal ball
  13. A place in heaven [Lisa vocals]
  14. Last heart
  15. Witness 4 the prosecution
  16. Movie star
  17. The Cross
  18. All my dreams
              Disc #2
  1. It's a wonderful day
  2. Teacher, teacher
  3. Sexual suicide
  4. Power fantastic
  5. In a large room with no light
  6. A place in heaven
  7. Witness 4 the prosecution
  8. Crystal ball
  9. Data bank
  10. Girl O' my dreams
  11. Can't stop this feeling I got
  12. We can funk
  13. Big tall wall

Deane's Comments (rates this release 4.5/5.0)
This is first MUST HAVE i've seen in a while. It is not without some minor flaws, but on the whole a superb release. Disc One is great and has been spinning in my player at work for days. Disc Two has alot of well circulated tracks, but the new ones make it worth a listen. My major disappointment is the inclusion of Big Tall Wall on the second disc because the sound quality is so poor, esp in contrast to rest of the tracks. I wish I could give this release a 5, but the packaging and the sound quality of second disc just aren't there.

Dale's Comments  (rates this release 4/5.0)
What a fantastic release! So there are only a few songs that weren't alreay circulating, so what. Having the first disc - the final configuration of the unreleased Dream Factory album makes this a MUST HAVE! Even though some of the songs on here have been released officially, they are part of the 'concept' and this release would not be as good if they were left off. Some of the songs that appear to be official are alternate verions, such as Strange Relationship, I could never take the place of your man, and Dream Factory (contains the full intro). Train is probably my favorite of the 'new' songs on this album, but I am also fond of Wonderful Day. Teacher Teacher doesn't do much for me, but I'm still letting it grow. The version of Big Tall Wall on this release has an additional minute or so at the beginning, but the sound quality on that track in particular is pretty bad. It starts out very muddy, then gets a little better after the first minute or so, but not enough to make me keep listening. If you are wondering why I rated this a 4.0 instead of higher, it is because; 1)The sound quality (although pretty good) could have easily been improved. There is a high pitched noise throughout disc 1 and some of disc 2, which is reportedly caused by high speed dubbing next to a TV. I don't know for sure if that is true, but it takes away 1/2 a point in my book. 2) The packaging is really sub par for Thunderball, or any major label for that matter. It looks very rushed, and there is even a mistake on the track list printed on the label of disc 2, but whatever happened there I'm just glad that they decided to change it and added Wonderful Day and Teacher Teacher!

Mike's Comments  (rates this release 4/5.0)
The Dream factory album is a classic, almost as good as Sign "O" the times. The cast-offs on disc 2 are very interesting, particularly 'It's a wonderful day' which would have made a good B-side to one of the Parade singles as it is very much in that vein. The most interesting parts from this set are also on The work volume 2.

copyright 2002 guide2prince.org